COVID-19 in inheritance law

In these extraordinary COVID-19 times, many people are forced to deal with illness or even death. Accordingly, precaution seems more important than ever and the question of what happens or should happen to one's assets in the event of death is omnipresent. Certain legal precautions can be taken in such cases to safeguard one's will as comprehensively as possible. The following article provides an overview of the legal possibilities.

Stable Coins

During its meeting held on 15 January 2020, the Swiss Federal Council took note of the recent developments regarding so-called stable coins. Stable Coins are blockchain-based tokens that are backed with assets in order to minimize fluctuations in value.

Blockchain: Report of the Swiss Federal Council

On 14 December 2018, the Federal Council presented the report of the "Blockchain / ICO" working group of the Federal Department of Finance to the public. The working group has examined the extent to which legal adjustments are to be made in Switzerland in the area of blockchain technology and distributed ledger technology (DLT).

Robotics and its Effects on the Law

Artificial Intelligence is no longer science fiction. In connection with the new Blockchain-based technologies, the legal world is not only facing major challenges in particular with regard to civil and criminal law, but is also experiencing a wide range of new and thrilling legal instruments to address contemporary business issues.

COVID-19 im Schweizer Erbrecht

In diesen aussergewöhnlichen COVID-19 Zeiten beschäftigen sich viele Menschen notgedrungen mit Krankheit oder gar dem Tod. Die Vorsorge wichtiger als je und die Frage, was mit dem eigenen Vermögen im Falle des Tods passieren soll, ist omnipräsent. Um seinen Willen in diesen Fällen möglichst umfassend abzusichern, können gewisse rechtliche Vorkehrungen getroffen werden. Der nachstehende Artikel gibt einen Überblick über die gesetzlichen Möglichkeiten.

Stable Coins

Am 15. Januar 2020 nahm der Bundesrat an seiner Sitzung Kenntnis von den jüngsten Entwicklungen im Bereich der sogenannten Stable Coins und diskutierte dabei die Vorschläge von internationalen Regulierungsbehörden. Stable Coins sind auf Blockchain-Technologie basierende Tokens, die wertstabile Vermögenswerte abbilden oder mit solchen Vermögenswerten unterlegt sind.

Blockchain: Bericht des Bundesrats

Am 14. Dezember 2018 hat der Bundesrat den Bericht der Arbeitsgruppe „Blockchain / ICO“ des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Die Arbeitsgruppe hat geprüft, inwiefern in der Schweiz gesetzliche Anpassungen im Bereich Blockchain-Technologie und Distributed Ledger-Technologie (DLT) vorgenommen werden sollen.

Robotik und ihre Auswirkungen auf das Gesetz

Künstliche Intelligenz ist keine Science Fiction mehr. Im Zusammenhang mit den neuen Blockchain-basierten Technologien steht die Rechtswelt nicht nur vor großen Herausforderungen im Zivil- und Strafrecht, sondern erfährt auch eine Vielzahl neuer und spannender Rechtsinstrumente zur Bewältigung aktueller Wirtschaftsfragen.