Missed opportunity to eliminate discrimination between men and women in operating allowances

In the case of a self-employed mother the Swiss Federal Supreme Court rejects an operating allowance similar to the one paid to women and men in service. This unequal treatment is due to physical differences between men and women and is therefore not discriminating. In the opinion of the Swiss Federal Supreme Court, the legislator must take action and enact the legal basis to pay an operating allowance to self-employed mothers as well.

After the SPA: Stumbling blocks under FATF – Loss of right to dividends if notifications are omitted, also in M&A transactions

In view of the draconian sanctions currently in force under company law (and possibly soon to come into force under criminal law), it is advisable for everyone to check carefully whether they trigger reporting obligations under company law when acquiring shares. On 20 March 2019, the Swiss National Council waved through the envisaged changes in criminal law; now it is the Council of States‘ turn.

Duty to report open positions – Implementation in the Canton of Zug and first experiences

On 1 July 2018, the duty for employers to report their open positions came into force. The obligation to report open positions implements the mass immigration initiative adopted by the Swiss electorate four years ago. The obligation to report open positions essentially obliges employers, firstly, to report vacancies to the competent regional job centre (RAV) if unemployment in the relevant occupation exceeds a threshold value.

Verpasste Chance zur Beseitigung der Diskriminierung zwischen Mann und Frau bei den Betriebszulagen

Das Bundesgericht lehnt eine Betriebszulage, wie sie z.B. für dienstleistende Frauen und Männer bezahlt wird, bei einer selbständigerwerbenden Mutter ab. Diese Ungleichbehandlung sei auf physische Unterschiede zwischen Mann und Frau zurückzuführen und deshalb nicht diskriminierend. Nach Ansicht des Bundesgerichts muss der Gesetzgeber aktiv werden und die gesetzliche Grundlage schaffen, damit Betriebszulagen auch an selbständigerwerbende Mütter ausbezahlt werden können.

Im Nachgang zum Aktienkauf: Stolpersteine unter GAFI – Dividendenverlust bei Unterlassung der notwendigen Mitteilungen auch bei M&A Transaktionen

Im Hinblick auf die derzeit geltenden drakonischen gesellschaftsrechtlichen (und möglicherweise bald in Kraft tretenden strafrechtlichen) Sanktionen, ist jedermann und jede Frau gut beraten, bei jedem Erwerb einer Beteiligung genau zu prüfen, ob damit gesellschaftsrechtliche Meldepflichten ausgelöst werden. Der Nationalrat hat die vorgesehenen strafrechtlichen Neuerungen am 20. März 2019 durchgewunken, nun ist der Ständerat am Zug.

Stellenmeldepflicht – Umsetzung im Kanton Zug und erste Erfahrungen

Am 1. Juli 2018 ist die Stellenmeldepflicht für Arbeitgeber in Kraft getreten. Mit der Stellenmeldepflicht wird die vor vier Jahren vom Schweizer Stimmvolk angenommenen Masseneinwanderungsinitiative umgesetzt. Die Stellenmeldepflicht verpflichtet die Arbeitgeber im Wesentlichen erstens, zu besetzende Stellen dem zuständigen regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentrum (RAV) zu melden, sofern die Arbeitslosigkeit im entsprechenden Beruf einen Schwellenwert überschreitet.